Orange Vanilla Cookies (Paleo, egg free, low carb)

My best friend doesn’t like chocolate. And YES she still somehow gets  along  with this chocolate obsessed girl. This recipe is for her. So is this poem. I’m a romantic, I know.

My best friend won’t eat chocolate,

This, my greatest food obsession.

It quite nearly strained our friendship

When she made that grand confession…

My best friend won’t  eat chocolate

And won’t taste-test my desserts,

But that means there’s more for me,

So it really could be worse.

My best friend won’t eat chocolate

But I like her nonetheless

She thinks it’s strong and bitter

And I still think she’s the best.

My best friend won’t eat chocolate

But it hasn’t caused us strife,

For she’s taught me that there’s more

Than only chocolate  to this life.

____________________________________________________

So dear best friend, here is the recipe you finally enjoyed taste testing. Orange, almond, hints of vanilla. Stupid easy, stupid tasty. Enough said 😀

Orange Vanilla Cookies

Makes about 10 cookies

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups blanched almond flour

3 Tablespoons maple syrup

2 Tablespoons coconut oil, melted

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 Tablespoons orange juice

2 Tablespoons orange zest

pinch salt

Directions 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 deg F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper
  2. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix with  a fork until a sticky dough forms.
  3. With  damp hands, roll dough into 1 inch balls  and place about 1 inch apart on baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes, or  until golden brown.
  5. Let cool completely.
  6. Cookies are best fresh, but  store in an air-tight container in the fridge up to a few days.

 

3 thoughts on “Orange Vanilla Cookies (Paleo, egg free, low carb)

  1. I also have a close friend who doesn’t like chocolate. If, it has to be the really bitter and sugar free type, but after all, that healthier anyway, so who’s to blame her 😀 I guess it’s different from not eating chocolate at all, but it is one thing less that one can share.

    I really should at least once try one of your recipes. I haven’t used a single of them yet.

    Like

      1. I find dark chocolate okay too, but eating a really fat and rich white chocolate and raspberry tarte, seriously, it’s like heaven on earth… 😛
        Let’s see, I definitely am not going to forget your blog, so sometime in the next year I shall come back to it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

